Review: The Beatles, "Love"


There are few times that I get so giddy that people question my sexuality. Sure, I’ve gotten close many times, especially when I see something with Paul Dinello or a young Paul Giamatti. Anyways, I am one of the most intense Beatles fans you could ever know. I have more Beatles stuff than most “fans” I know and I work very hard at being a true fan.

“Love” is the brainchild of George Harrison, Cirque du Soleil, and most importantly George and Giles Martin. It has now been a highly successful show in Vegas for a few months and is something that I, living on the East Coast, may only see if luck passes my way. George Harrison was a fan of Cirque du Soleil and its founder Guy Laliberte was a personal friend. They collaborated, asked George Martin to compose/mix the music of the Beatles to create a show incorporating their music with Cirque du Soleil.

The resulting soundtrack that was released today is spectacular and so far the best album of the year with no questions. George Martin captured the essential feeling that the Beatles were all about. Listening to the CD as such a huge fan is one of the best Beatles experiences I’ve ever had and my giddyness was unbelievable. The best track is definitely “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” but other greats are “Strawberry Fields Forever”, “Octopus’s Garden”, “Being For The Benefit of Mr. Kite”, and even “Drive my Car.” I am unable to stop listening to it. It is a must have for a huge fan, but if you are interested in it, you should listen to all the original versions of every track on the album because it makes it so much better. Giles and George Martin have created something so intensely up to par and appropriate to the work that they are using.

On another note, I’m watching Slither right now and I’m creeped out beyond comprehension. I love it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Beatles, Review

Leave a Reply

