3 Important Films I Forgot To Mention

There are three more films coming out this year that I didn’t mention. Two of them were unmentioned because I’m not entirely sure they won’t be pushed ahead to next year. The other one I just blindly forgot about. If I don’t see any of the films on my previous list, I’m seeing these three with complete certainty. The films are:

Be Kind Rewind.

This is the film that I forgot about. I don’t know why I forgot about it, I read about it all the time. It’s Michel Gondry’s next film with Jack Black and Mos Def. I love Gondry, although I’ve been too lazy to watch The Science of Sleep. The premise is spectacular: two guys, one who works in a video store the other is his friend, erase all the tapes in the store and must remake all the movies to keep the store in business. I can only recall a few of the films they remake: Ghostbusters, Back to the Future, The Lion King, and Robocop. Well this could be an instant cult classic ala Shaun of the Dead or something like that. I hope this is amazing.

Synechdoche, New York.

This is Charlie Kaufman’s next film and also will be his directing debut. Thank god. I love how his screenplays have been interpreted by great young directors like Gondry and Spike Jonze, but this time we will get to see how he sees the story unfold visually. The cast is great: Michelle Williams, Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Catherine Keener, Tilda Swinton, and Samantha Morton. Yum. The story is not so eccentric like his other films but IMDb describes it as: “A theater director (Hoffman) struggles with his work, and the women in his life, as he attempts to creating a life-size replica of New York inside a warehouse as part of his new play.” It doesn’t sound like the most exciting film, but it has a lot of potential and since it was birthed in Kaufman’s amazing brain, I’m sure it will be a masterpiece. It has also got some great early script reviews.

The Darjeeling Limited.

When I heard that Wes Anderson was doing a REAL film before he tackled The Fantastic Mr. Fox, I was so giddy like a school girl I almost wet the bed. I love Wes Anderson films. I can watch any of them dozens of times. If I were to make a film, it would be like Bottle Rocket. I want to go to Rushmore Academy. I always wanted to be a Tenenbaum. I want to be in the fucking Zissou society.The story is about three brothers (played by Owen Wilson, Adrien Brody, and Jason Schwartzman) taking a train (The Darjeeling Ltd) ride through India in search of a rare albino tiger that was believed to be the reincarnation of their recently deceased father. Not exactly the best plot (like Synechdoche) but I’m sure I will love it. Natalie Portman is in it sans short hair, but I’ll forgive her for that because she is SO adorable anyways. If I don’t see any of the other two films, I’ll be seeing this one or I’ll shoot myself in the face with a bazooka.

The last two films are “scheduled” to come out in December, but who the hell knows if that is going to happen. I know that Wes Anderson is currently in post-production, so hopefully that means they can put it out this year instead of arbitrarily releasing it in February for no reason. Be Kind Rewind is supposed to come out in the summer so I can’t imagine why it would be pushed to next year but you never know. Well, there you have it.

BY the way, ABC is making a TV pilot centering around the Geico cavemen. THAT is why I don’t watch ABC. Thank you.

This is why I love NBC and The Office.

Leave a comment

Filed under be kind rewind, Charlie Kaufman, Movie News, synecdoche new york, The Darjeeling Limited, Wes Anderson

Leave a Reply

