Review: Hot Fuzz

I’m going to write this review a little differently than usual. I want to really express myself from now on. I still maintain everything I stated about how horrid Spider-man 3 is, but I’m going to try to change my style. By the way, I watched Epic Movie and I don’t even need to tell you how bad it is. But still, it’s not worse than Spider-man 3 (Epic Movie is supposed to be a bad movie).

Like most reviews of Hot Fuzz, I am going to begin by saying that I loved Shaun of the Dead. It was an original comedy, a reinvention of the genre. The film was one of my favorite films of 2004 (It was an excellent year for film) and it became an instant cult classic, not to mention one of the most quotable films in the past five years. When I heard that Edgar Wright was making another film with Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, I got really excited. The early trailers were really promising and I couldn’t wait to see it.

I would have seen it earlier but I had a few papers to write for school and then I had finals. But now I’m out and I finally got to see it before it was plundered from the box office by pirates. I caught a midday show and found myself one of four people in the audience. Sometimes that’s the best.

The movie was quite hilarious. It totally showed that Edgar Wright is a great new talent. I love his directing style. He’ll redirect action into a new scene instead of continuing the past scene. A punch will lead into a new scene with a different character being knocked down onto a couch in a new setting. It’s a hilarious and fun technique and it’s not overused. The story is very entertaining, and I attribute it to a great script, great directing, and above all an amazing cast.

The casting is perfect. Simon Pegg and Nick Frost again show great chemistry as buddies. Pegg plays a hard-edged-by-the-book police officer freshly transferred from London (where he was making everyone look bad) to a small village where the crime rate is low but the accident rate is high. Frost plays his new dimwitted but action-eager partner. The supporting cast is also great and includes Jim Broadbent, Timothy Dalton, Bill Nighy, Steve Coogan, Martin Freeman, Stephen Merchant, and Paddy Considine. The unknowns in this movie are also quite hilarious. Wright and Pegg use every character to build up to a big reveal and I don’t want to give away too much, but the innocence of the characters really plays with your head. I loved Timothy “Two Times James Bond” Dalton in this. The whole movie leads you to believe one thing and then everything gets turned around in the end. I really didn’t expect this film to be a mystery comedy with such a great reveal.

Watch it if you are a SOTD fan, but also watch it because it is another hilarious parody that doesn’t disappoint in laughs or action. Hot Fuzz gets an A-.

1 Comment

Filed under Hot Fuzz, Review

One response to “Review: Hot Fuzz

  1. john

    I can’t wait till Hotfuzz comes out on DVD.

Leave a Reply

