Retrospective: The Best Films of 2006 REDO!

At the end of this year, when I announce my favorite films of the year I am going to be more specific. A lot of the films on my list were wrong, mostly because of the films I hadn’t seen and also because I was really too excited to be thinking clearly about the films. I’m trying to see more films this year and when I make my ’07 list, I’ll be more specific and clear. Here’s the updated list, the real list.

10. A Scanner Darkly (dir. Richard Linklater)
-Great sci-fi/animated film, totally underrated.

9. The Queen (dir. Stephen Frears)
-Wonderfully acted, superbly written character drama.

8. The Departed (dir. Martin Scorsese)
-Classic Marty, excellent script and cast especially Leonardo Dicaprio.

7. Half Nelson (dir. Ryan Fleck)
-Dark, dirty indie film with a breathtaking performance by Ryan Gosling.

6. V for Vendetta (dir. James McTeigue)
-Magnificent comic adaptation, Hugo Weaving is glorious.

5. Children of Men (dir. Alfonso Cuaron)
-One of the best sci-fi films I’ve ever seen, extraordinarily believable vision of the future.

4. United 93 (dir. Paul Greengrass)
-The most heartwrenching, realistically acted film of the year. Most humane film of the year.

3. The Science of Sleep (dir. Michel Gondry)
-This entire film is a dream, like nothing I’ve seen or felt about film for a while.

2. Pan’s Labyrinth (dir. Guillermo del Toro)
-A marvelous film, visually terrifying and interesting. Del Toro’s film is a revelation of the fantasy film, making a fantasy film that is essentially a historical drama. Unbelievable.

1. Little Miss Sunshine (dir. Jonathan Dayton, Valerie Faris)
-Still my favorite film of 2006, after much consideration. No other film made me feel so good this year. The acting, the writing, the directing, and everything about this film is what good filmmaking is to me.

Well there you go, I’m glad I finally did this. I’ve been meaning to do this for month after being so embarrassed by my original list (especially after seeing Pan’s Labyrinth and Children of Men). I’m gonna start posting older years, starting with ’05 and then ’04 and so on. Thank you for reading.

Leave a comment

Filed under Best of list, Retrospective

Leave a Reply

